Ford Power Stroke Nation banner

1 - 20 of 109 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm a newbie who just bought his first 7.3 yesterday. I'm wondering what some of your tricks are for getting the most MPG's out of your truck.

What are some of the inexpensive ways to start with?

And what are some of the other more expensive ways to improve MPG?

If this has been discussed 10 billion times already, I apologize.

John

·
Registered
175 Posts
Dave is probably going to be the most help but it all depend on how much you really want to get the economy and how much you want to sacrify for it. DAve is getting about 24-26 mpg but he has a 4"/6" drop plus a rubber airdam and a fastback along with being 2wd 6 speed and having a 3.08 final drive. Some inexpensive tricks is fill the tires to max pressure that is posted on the side wall, don't accel to fast, be smooth, If you are a stick dont understimate the power of coasting. Driving style has to do a lot on diesel engines. Then there are the small stuff like 203 THermostat. Dave will probably be able to give you more details

·
OBS junkie
8,250 Posts
First of all what truck/gearing/tires do you have? I hope you didn't buy youtr truck thinking you can get 25mpg everyday under normal driving. For starters the first thing I would do is get a straight pipe or free flow muffler on there. Then a homemade Tymar intake, it will pull all the air that you'll need & costs around $50. Next you can look at something like a DP Tuner with a few mild tunes on it to give you alittle more juice. If you can keep your foot out of the throttle the chip can help with mpg.
The one thing I've found that helps better than anything though is to keep the RPMs below 2000 if you can. Reving it up to 2600rpms through every gear might make you go quicker but it also cuts back your mpg as well.

Welcome to The Nation by the way!

·
Cute and cuddly boys!
973 Posts