Ford Power Stroke Nation banner

1 - 20 of 51 Posts

·
Romans 1:16
81 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I know this sounds stupid, but when should I change the oil? I am new to diesel and changed the oil in my old gas guzzler every 3k miles. I have heard that you need to change more frequently than with gas burners. Any insight would help.

Thanks

·
81 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Change your air, oil and fuel every 5k, and your rig will be good to you
You changer yours every 5k? I have seen people changing it at 1.5k
Just trying to make sure I am taking care of it properly.

·
whistle tits
3,498 Posts
who changes their oil at 1,500 miles??? theres no point. that is just a waste of money. 5k intervals, and everything will be happy longer

·
Kris
236 Posts
I can't afford to do it at 1.5k! I think 5k is too soon hahah. I usually go 5k on my oil changes, you can send your oil in for analysis and determine the best point from there. I know a lot of people who do it at 7k.

·
81 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
1.5k seems like overkill. Like I said, I am new to diesel world. I know that it looks like its ready change again after you change it and let it run for 5 minutes. Heard it's just as black as before haha

·
Registered
1,138 Posts
I always change mine at 3k. Thats what the powerstroke guys told me is best for the 7.3 when I took the classes, and thats what the manual states. I also dont run synthetic.

To me its piece of mind. My 2011 Fusion is supposed to go 10,000 miles, but I have it changed at 3,000. Its piece of mind, and its free lifetime oil changes from ford so why not.

Welcome to the diesel world

·
Registered
245 Posts
5,000 mile intervals is plenty.

·
Premium Member
2,472 Posts
1.5k seems like overkill. Like I said, I am new to diesel world. I know that it looks like its ready change again after you change it and let it run for 5 minutes. Heard it's just as black as before haha