Ford Power Stroke Nation banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Alright looking for help and info first post so I'll try and make it count.

Vehicle in question is a 02 7.3 excursion 2wd auto 180k (just in case you care)
Just blew the water pump and when it blew it looks like oil was thrown around under the hood any guesses why this would happen?(Have not looked real close at it yet other then visually see dark marks and feel the consistency of it) I've never worked on a diesel before always gassers so im at a loss to that.
Did a little research and people say 4 of the water pump bolts go through the timing cover and oil can seep past the bolts? Not sure if that's the problem maybe a bolt blew out? Truck starts fine other then the familer waterpump clunk.

Before i get into tearing it apart is there in tips or tricks? Also why im doing this anything else I should check out or replace why doing so? It just had the whole fuel system replaced by the local ford dealer because some "new" guy at the gas station filled it with premium gas and not diesel. (stupid oregon state law no pumping yourself)

Also it seems to be lacking in the torque department it has a power commander but Idk how much that helps other then look "cool" and give random percentages when modes are changed.

·
Registered
106 Posts
Not much to replacing the water pump. While your there id replace the thermostat and thermostat housing. The lower elbow or outlet. Lower hose. And get the optional upper hose that routes around the serpentine belt if you dont already have it. New pumps from o'reilly come with the lower elbow/outlet. Your gonna need a fan clutch tool to remove the fan.

·
Village Idiot
8,209 Posts
I used a pipe wrench on my fan.
dieselsite has a new pump that includes all of that...
lower hose, new tstat, tstat coover and has a built in filter
it is a modded international pump. If i had the money i would be all over that.

....no idea on the oil everywhere.