Ford Power Stroke Nation banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well trouble free so far but now I have an issue that I have no idea what it is. It started a few days ago that while driving if I floor it, it will not go over 3000rpm. If I let off the gas it will downshift back to normal rpms. But also it didn't really want to go over 55. The truck has about 110000 miles on it. I've had no problems yet and my oasis report came back with no work done. Previous owner said the egr delete was done but that would be the only mod of that nature. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

·
Registered
97 Posts
Get a Diagnostic Tool like a scangauge. Are you still building boost? Is there any white residue near the Coolant Fill Cap?

·
Registered
97 Posts
There is a lot of very knowledgeable guys on here who can point you in the right direction. Look at the 6.0 Section they have a lot of stickys on common problems with the 6.0L. Im fairly new to the 6.0s myself but ive been lucky and done alot of the preventative maintenance upgrades to avoid most the issues.

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I'm at work now so I won't be able to check it out until later but I don't have a boost Guage but I can still hear the turbo spool up. I've had the truck almost a year but it is my first diesel so I'm still fairly new to everything.

·
Registered
97 Posts
The truck should come factory with a little dial on your gauge cluster. It could be your turbo needing cleaning or the VGT could be sticking. Look into getting a Scangauge II. You can read all the live parameters of your truck. Its going to be the first thing anyone recommends you do. If/when you do look into VGT Duty Cycle and Fuel Pressure when the truck is acting up. Is the EGR Valve still plugged in?

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter #6