Ford Power Stroke Nation banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
462 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys. Been wanting to do some traction bars for awhile now. Well ive been searching around for heim joints and they're $50+. So I went to a local tractor store. Picked up these and i couldnt believe it, 21.00 a piece! So i grabbed them. Plan is to cut them in half and add a few feet of pipe to them. The ends arent tapped for a grease fitting but oh well. Maybe i'll tap it myself. But what im looking for is pictures of the axle mount and frame mounts...Anyone have some pics?
Here's the bars:

·
Registered
184 Posts
This is exactly what I have been using for about 2 years now, and no issues. The Tractor Supply near me had different lengths and I got one that is perfect without having to add any pipe. For what it does, it works great and my wallet was very happy!

·
Registered
462 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Awesome! Very glad to hear that. Ive had a ton of people doubting me...But oh well

·
Registered
19 Posts
I like the idea! but I would worry about the joints wearing and clunking/making noise while driving since the axle is constantly moving

·
Metal - It kicks your ass
3,090 Posts
I like the idea! but I would worry about the joints wearing and clunking/making noise while driving since the axle is constantly moving

Thats why you don't get solid mounts.

If you want to go the cheap route then do the tractor supply heims. They will wear, they will be stiff, and they will clunk and squeak.

If you want a quiet and smooth operation go with Ballistic bushings and heims but, it won't be cheap.

Another option is to just buy OUO traction bars. Best money can buy.

·
Registered
462 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
If they make noise i'll just weld a piece of tube across it and throw bushings in like the trac bar on the Dana 60's

·
Registered
248 Posts

·
Busted Knuckles
2,456 Posts