Ford Power Stroke Nation banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Back in Black
1,379 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
this is my first time doing it like this.

i pulled glow plugs and installed injectors and hooked up the injectors and unplugged cps. i crancked it over and it sounded as i was only spinning the starter.

is that how its supposed to sound since its loosing compression outa the glow plug holes?

Thanks

·
Crazy wid da cheeze wiz
2,411 Posts
Yeah I would think so.

On a side note, what you doing with your old injectors?

·
Strokin' in Green Bay
68 Posts
yeaup, sounds really funny when you are doing that. Glance out your window while you are doing this and you can see the fan turning, which is telling you the motor is indeed turning over.

·
Registered
4,865 Posts
Unless they are reasonably new I would replace the glow plugs since they are out and relatively cheap.

·
Back in Black
1,379 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
they were installed two febuarys ago when my last engine was built, should they be replaced? no idea what the life of them are.

·
Registered
4,865 Posts
They should be fine but if you have a multimeter it would be a good idea to check them. You can also hit them with 12 volt juice and you will know real quick if they are all working. Make sure you are not holding it by the tip.:eek::doh::D Those little suckers get really hot with in a few seconds. I would say 1 second and it would melt into your skin. Don;t ask.:mad:

·
I like turtles
2,604 Posts
They should be fine but if you have a multimeter it would be a good idea to check them. You can also hit them with 12 volt juice and you will know real quick if they are all working. Make sure you are not holding it by the tip.:eek::doh::D Those little suckers get really hot with in a few seconds. I would say 1 second and it would melt into your skin. Don;t ask.:mad:
You still have the scare?:doh:

·
Registered
4,865 Posts
Yep

·
Registered
1,976 Posts
this is my first time doing it like this.