Ford Power Stroke Nation banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
DIESELdog...
393 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm not a newbie but I have a newbie question for sure. Where are you tapping for an EGT probe? Mine has always been in the manifold at the #8 cylinder. I can't remember how long the probe is, but I remember it's long enough to stick into the #8 exhaust port a tad.

The reason I ask is because now that I'm in Denver I have what I think are too high EGTs. I moved from sea level. I have 1250, empty, with the chip pulled out, stage 1s while accelerating at about 75% throttle on flat ground with heavy 36" tires.

With the chip in I can hit 1250 at about 40% throttle.

Interestingly enough, I also see it pegged sometimes at 100 degrees while decelerating in gear, slowly, down a mountain pass in the snow. That's fascinating to me how it can be that cool right at the port.

Anyway, back on topic. Is it possible that my probe is in a hotter spot than the majority?

·
Registered
671 Posts
Travis thats right were mine is tapped. I could get my egt to jump to 1300 with 1's pretty quick on flat ground wot.

·
Registered
77 Posts