Ford Power Stroke Nation banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just this morning i was leaving the house the truck started normally but when i was going up a hill the truck would lose power when it was shifting so it seemed like it was shifting really really late and when i got to the top of the hill the truck completely died, now it just cranks constantly and wont start, i was little under half a tank of diesel. My dad and I just replaced the pickup screen this weekend and the egr cooler is leaking (white smoke on start) im new to diesel so im not sure if it can be the injectors or a ficm? No idea... 04 f250 6.0

·
Registered
624 Posts
I am not a 6.0 guy but I would not think it is injectors. Maybe the standpipe, the fuel pump or one of many others....there are knowledgeable 6.0 fellas on here i am sure they will help you diagnose your truck.

·
EA - Eggfarts Anonymous!
18,844 Posts
Welcome to the forum!

I wouldn't think it's injectors either. I'd think it would at least fire and run really bad if 1 or even 2 injectors were failing.

First things first, do you have an obd2 scanner or monitor? there's a couple parms that are real real useful like the ICP and IPR, along with FICM logic and FICM main power. This can help the guys tat are smarter than me (lol) determine whether it's a HPO thing, or a FICM thing.
The HPO stuff is pretty straightforward - depending on the engine build, you've got a handful of parts that are known to leak off pressure enough to stop the motor from running.

Next, can you check your fuel pressure? Unless it's the fuel pump, I don't think that's it, but it's something you'll want to know if you own a 6.0 lol

aaaaaaaand, do you know the build date on your engine? i forget the cuttoff date, but some 04s have the 'early build 6.0', other have the later. makes a bit of difference hunting sensors and HPO leaks and stuff...