Ford Power Stroke Nation banner

1 - 1 of 1 Posts

·
Above It All
285 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This comes from another post which kind of got off topic. I have no experience with dual pumps and I'm trying to learn and understand.

I have read where people have had problems with dual IPRs. I'm reading here that duty cycles are halved or doubled with dual IPRs. I asked the question if voltage drop was taken into consideration when running IPRs in series. The answer I got was that the PCM didn't care about voltage. It only cared about ICP. Well that is true, however, the IPR cares and it is the part that controls the ICP.

Now correct me if I'm out in left field here.
Looking at Ford schematics, it appears the IPR has a resistance of 10-20 ohms. At 12 volts 20 ohms consumes 7.2 watts of power. In case you didn't get 5 years of electrical engineering, watt is a measurement of energy and we refer to Ohm's Law to calculate it.
If we hook two IPRs in series, we get 40 ohms. At 12 volts we get 3.6 watts.
If we hook two IPRs in parallel, we get 10 ohms. At 12 volts we get 14.4 watts.

At first blush, it seems that running 2 IPRs in series makes little sense. We've doubled the IPRs and halved the power with the same duty cycle. I would doubt that the results are linear, but it would seem that we are closing the valve half of what we normally would. We've doubled the valves so we have twice the leak rate. You would almost expect four times the normal duty cycle in order to keep up.

Parallel IPRs seem to make more sense. This setup allows the valves to position themselves to the same as the single IPR with the same duty cycle. Thing is we have two valves dumping oil. Under stock conditions, we would need to increase duty cycles to maintain pressure. Maybe by twice normal.