Ford Power Stroke Nation banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Spooling
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am very new to the diesel world, just bought my first one about a month ago, a lifted 2006 F250. Other than the lift its pretty much stock other than an Airaid cold air intake and a 4" turbo back exhaust. I have been doing research and trying to learn as much as possible. I just got a SCT Livewire TS from Innovative and got a couple custom tunes from them. I loaded up the Xtreme Street tune and it is a night and day difference over the canned tunes! It is noticeably faster, drives better, and doesn't pour black smoke. However I noticed even with the Xtreme Street tune the boost level only goes to around 22psi. When I was on the highway and rolled into the throttle it spiked at 26psi. On the stock tune it is around 22psi. Is it normal for it to be at the stock boost level with a custom tune? I have three buddies that have 6.0l diesels with tunes and they are all making 37-39psi, thats why I am so confused as to why mine is still at stock boost levels but still feels much faster than stock. I know there are other factors such as fuel, timing, ect...but I would think the boost level would be higher. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

·
Big dumb *******
4,200 Posts
If I recall correctly, 37-39psi on a stock turbo is a good way to shorten its life span.

·
Spooling
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Yeah 37-39psi seemed like a lot to me on a stock turbo, but I am new to all this so I wasnt sure. But either way, why is their boost level so much more then mine? One of my buddies has an SCT tuner with the same Xtreme Street tune by Innovative Diesel. Like I said the truck runs great, I'm just confused by the boost level difference between my truck and my other buddies.

·
Registered
1,069 Posts
I don't believe the numbers your buddies are putting out, not on a stock "turdbo" impossible

·
Jackleg Mechanic
881 Posts