Ford Power Stroke Nation banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Doing cab on 6.0 headgaskets. Well my dumbass forgot one headstud to ziptie on
for pass side so I had to take the head back off. And I scratched sealer off while doing that. Should I scrap the gasket and get anther. Or is it ok. They are sinisters black diamond so it I scrap it I'm going to end up just buying oem as there cheaper then buying anther set of black diamonds.

·
Registered
418 Posts
Personally, I'd toss those black diamonds (known for failing early) and get oem or felpro. I know it's another $150 (or so), but cheaper than doing the job again.

·
Registered
104 Posts
I'm not a diesel mechanic but I've been building engines for a long time and I would think that with a little copper head gasket spray on there it should be ok.

·
Administrator
33,141 Posts
LOL I was thinking the same
Black Onyx gaskets were known for failures IDK what sisinter uses but they look like victor reinz

·
Administrator
33,141 Posts

·
Administrator
33,141 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·
Personally, I'd toss those black diamonds (known for failing early) and get oem or felpro. I know it's another $150 (or so), but cheaper than doing the job again.
Where have you seen write ups on the sinister black diamonds failing early? I've looked around before starting this and couldn't find anything other then 1 write up where truck had 30k miles after doing job. But he didn't do Oring heads.

·
Administrator
33,141 Posts
I think he was confusing the black onyx gaskets with early failure that was not the same as the victor reinz

just verify what brand they are selling as their black diamond

·
Registered
32 Posts
Check with your head maker because certain guys who do the o ring do them for certain type of gaskets!
Killdevil o rings for use with felpro
Power stroke products o ring for oem

·
Administrator
33,141 Posts
Fact check Kill Devil