Ford Power Stroke Nation banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
WINNING
1,325 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Before someone says it, I know there are threads about this already, but I have specific question. So here goes, I am getting ready to pull the cab for the second time to do the gaskets. Well the first time they were done, the mechanic torqued the studs to 260 ft. lbs. My question is, would it be safe to reuse the studs in my case and only torque them to the 250 ft. lbs. that ARP reccomends? Thank you for the help.

-French

·
I Just Break Stuff
2,201 Posts
Best I can remember. ARPs are torqued to 245. I believe they can be used 5 times. Seeings how they where torqued to 260, you may want to call ARP and see. Maybe someone else will chime in that knows a little more about it. I've never heard of the effects of torquing them past spec. Don't know if it would hurt them or not. I'm not an engineer, but I'm sure there's a formula as long as my leg to figure it out.

·
your mom
211 Posts
it shouldnt hurt but do you know why the gaskets went heads warped? hows the deck of the block. I'm runing arp and there tq to 280 cuz your not the first to blow gaskets with arps. i dono exactly but some one told me i was better off with them at 280 just becafull not to brake them.

·
Hater Club
3,602 Posts
Call ARP and get the maximum length on the stud. After install and use, they will stretch a bit. If they are in tolerance, use them. I've heard people say that they don't stretch... bull####.

Get a micrometer and take a look.

·
WINNING
1,325 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
it shouldnt hurt but do you know why the gaskets went heads warped? hows the deck of the block. I'm runing arp and there tq to 280 cuz your not the first to blow gaskets with arps. i dono exactly but some one told me i was better off with them at 280 just becafull not to brake them.