Ford Power Stroke Nation banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just purchased a 2004 f350 with the 6.0l turbo diesel I have heard a lot of good things and bad things about this engine. The truck currently has 227,000 on it. It's not bulletproofed completely stock. Is there anything I should do to it? I'm new to the 6.0 engines. Thanks!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Trust me, I got this...
1,425 Posts
Bulletproof it. ARP headstuds and egr delete. New ford oil cooler. Re-seal injectors and everything else that you take apart

Sent from my SM-J320V using Tapatalk

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #5

·
EA - Eggfarts Anonymous!
18,855 Posts
also, it would likely benefit you to know whether this is an early or late build motor. there's subtle differences, but they are important when there's a problem! easierst way to tell is if the ICP sensor is onthe passenger side valve cover towards the front of motor, that's a late build. if its down in the valley under the turbo then its an early build

·
EA - Eggfarts Anonymous!
18,855 Posts
oh, and figure out the type & age of ALL of the existing fluids you have installed. and then proceed to change the old ones and replace teh incorrect ones with quality fluid. one of the most common "fluids" mistakes on the 6.0 is using the universal green or ford gold coolant in a 6.0. it really needs a quality ELC with an EC-1 rating in the cooling system

·
EA - Eggfarts Anonymous!
18,855 Posts
& i'll add in these because i didn't read them in the above posts: updated standpipes/dummy plugs if needed, and blue spring upgrade FPR.

do you have any service records for the truck? would be nice to know for sure if anything has been done to it. if you know the dealership that it was serviced at, they will send you the records that they have for the VIN. i've done that before.

·
Registered
83 Posts