Ford Power Stroke Nation banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
79 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
well I am rather new to the diesel world and I am trying to learn as much as possible I just bought my truck about 2 months ago, and it has started getting cold in the morning. this morning it was about 40 degrees. I have noticed that the fuel warmed has started sounding different only on the first start up of the day and when it is cold. then this morning was the coldest so far and when the light went out i started it and the engine was kind of lurching up and down for a couple seconds bad enough to cause the truck to shake back and forth. but after a couple seconds it settled in to the normal high idle. was hoping someone could offer some insight as to what the problem may be.

·
Hood Rich
2,873 Posts
Several things could be the issue. Mainly I am thinking of FICM performance and or injector stiction. First step is to pull codes and report back.

·
Registered
83 Posts
Likely bad injector(s) the injectors are hydraulically controlled using engine oil, the common issue with them is called "stiction". It is were the spool valve in the injector head starts to stick-friction. When the engine is cold the oil is thicker so the problem is magnified, when the oil heats up and the oil thins out, the problem goes away... very common issue on the 6.0L. Plug in the truck and if it starts better then you should start saving for Injectors. You are okay for now but when they start to misfire at operating temperature it will be time to change them.

Contact me if it turns out you need injectors, I have some options.

Hope that helps
Dave

·
Registered
79 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·