Ford Power Stroke Nation banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've read a few posts here that day tuning a 6.0 pretty much leads to popping HG's inevitably without head studs. I talked to a local shop about the process and they told me that even if they were to put head studs in the truck they couldn't guarantee it being bullet proof without inspecting the heads for cracks by sending them off to a machine shop. I haven't noticed any symptoms of a cracked head but I want to be sure if I'm going to tune my truck that I can avoid popping at all costs. I'm preparing for a cross country trip and don't have time for mechanical failure. Advice on tuning/head studs/cracked head symptoms would be greatly appreciated.

·
Registered
150 Posts
I have no experience with tunes other than I have read that there are some pretty nasty tunes out there that toast transmissions or cause excessive EGT temps.

Regarding the heads, yes, your local shop is right. 6.0L heads like to crack. Taking heads off to put in studs and not send the heads out to be checked would be negligence on the shops part. If you go that route, have a couple extra grand in the emergency fund for the job in case they both are cracked. I had my heads tested...cracked, sent over another set off a spare engine I bought...cracked... ended up buying a set from Ford. The machinist said he seldom gets 6.0L heads to check that aren't cracked.

·
Registered
58 Posts
Having the heads checked by a machine shop is not an option. It's a must. If the heads have issues or if you can swing the cost, get a set of heads from kill devil diesel. Either way don't consider having the heads off without them going to a reputable machine shop.

Sent from my SM-G935V using Tapatalk

·
Registered
58 Posts