Ford Power Stroke Nation banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Project Shamu
2,965 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Had a power steering leak get progressively worse over the last 4-5 months or so. Finally after sitting for a few days, i noticed today there was about a 1 foot wide circle in my driveway.

Started to do some research and came across some information that Ford says to use ATF, Mercon V to be exact, and not powersteering fluid (funny how you can use power steering fluid in a POWER STEERING SYSTEM). Anyways, I've been running power steering fluid for a couple years now. Could it have torn up a seal and be leaking now? Where would it normally start to leak as I can pinpoint where its coming from.

Today I did a flush with STP Mercon V that i got from AutoZone. I just sucked out as much as i could out of the reservoir, refill with ATF, then start the truck and turn the wheel left and right for a few minutes. Then repeat the process until i went through 2 quarts of ATF. Stuff that came out was pretty dark, and whats in the reservoir now is pretty bright Red, so I'd like to think i got atleast most of it. The last fill I added in Lucas Power Steering Stop Leak to see if that would help any. We'll see.

Any ideas where the leak could be coming from? I've finally fixed every oil, transmission, and fuel leak on the truck, now its just this last one!

·
Master BS'er
5,931 Posts
Hoses are the most likely culprit, but it could literally be leaking from anywhere. The PS fluid causing a leak is kind of dubious, it'll just break down faster or foam more or do whatever it is that its not supposed to do. Youd need a tribiologist to answer that one.

·
Project Shamu
2,965 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Hmm, well looking online both PS lines aren't that expensive, maybe its time to just replace them and hope its not the box leaking?

·
Native Texan
9,090 Posts
It could also be the pump its self leaking as it has a plastic body sealed to pump with orings.

·
Project Shamu
2,965 Posts