Ford Power Stroke Nation banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello PSN, thanks for having me! Im a newbie. Im not a forum kind of guy but after searching and reading other forums Ive decided to make PSN my home.

Please forgive me as I learn to use and navigate the site. Ill catch on soon.

I bought a used 2004 F-350, Lariat, FX4 in Dec. 2013 just about a month and half ago. It currently has 146,000 miles.

Im pretty sure the prev. owner had a programer on the truck. The truck ran great up until this past weekend. The only mod to the engine is an Airraid intake. All other mods came with the truck except the wheels and tires, I put them on.

I want to get this out there now. This is the first diesel Ive owned. I love this truck! I am diesel dumb. Im not an idiot, I just dont know diesel's but Im learning. I do know about some of the problems with the 6.0. I hope I never have to go back to a gasser. I love owning and driving a "Big Boy" truck!

Hang in there with me this could get long.

Problems = Very rough idle, so bad the whole truck shakes. Put it in drive and give it some fuel and the truck just crawls. After a min or two the RPM'S get high and after a hard shift the truck will pick up speed. It still runs like crap after its up to speed.

This all started this past Saturday night, it ran like crap! The next day I jumped in and took it to a friends shop to change the fuel filters. This was a 20 mile trip. On the trip to my friends place the truck seemed to run "ok" better than Saturday night. After changing the fuel filters and cleaning the EGR valve it ran like crap again!

Tonight I took it to the "Zone" to run any codes and it ran really bad getting there. It came back with 0 codes. When I started to drive it home it ran "ok" . About half way home it fell on its face again...What gives!?!?!