Ford Power Stroke Nation banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
295 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm just wondering who all on here is a medic and for how long ..I've been a firefighter and a basic emt for a few years and I'm currently 7 months into a 12 month medic program....... sometimes I wonder what the heck ive got myself into but on the other hand I love what I do. so please share oh and any advise is welcome

·
Registered
76 Posts
im a cna and been one for 8 years and love it im a basic and was a brush hog for 3 years and all i have to say hard work = great rewards and pluse a biger pay check for fun stuff

·
Yeah, it's like that
2,419 Posts
Not a paramedic, but I'm in the process of becoming a volunteer firefighter for the local fire deptment and an EMT-B. So any advice you can give me seeing that you already are? Not trying to hi-jack your thread on the first reply LOL

·
HÄWÄÌÌÄñ
1,161 Posts
:whs: im in high school right now and if football isn't the thing then i want to become a firefighter/ems. any info would be greatly appreciated!

·
Kilroy was here
128 Posts
I did it for five years.

If your going to be a paramedic, do it while your young and in shape. You should be able to make decent money as a paramedic as opposed to an EMT-B, but you may find that your lower back hurts after a few years...

·
Registered
1,007 Posts
EMT for 18 years and a Paramedic for the last 14 years of that - and counting.

I got out of the business on a full time basis a couple of years ago and volunteer for calls now. I also teach EMT classes. Although I never had a legal issue in my career I always despised having the feeling of a lawyer looking over my shoulder 24/7.

·
Fire junkie
536 Posts