Ford Power Stroke Nation banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Long story short, the truck died on me on the highway. Once towed home the valve cover gaskets were discovered to be toast. The two on the passenger side were totally burnt and one on the driver side was melted pretty good and the the just one side was melted. Changed those and glow plugs. Still would not start. Replaced fuel filter, icp, ipr, CPS, and hoop. Still will crank but will not start.
Just got a scanner today and bought the torque pro app.
HPOP reading was 7.4 psi and IPR cycle was 14.7%.
I am new at working on these and I'm at a loss at what to do now. Can anybody help PLEASE!!!

·
Registered
941 Posts
Can the Torque pro app initiate a buzz test of the injectors? If not I would recommend trying FORScan. What scanner/adapter did you get to interface with Torque pro? Anyway... once you can initiate a buzz test you'll be able to determine if the injectors are in fact working. If they are... great... if they aren't then the IDM is likely not functional.

Cj

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
As far as I know torque app does NOT have the capability to do a buzz test. I got the BAFX wifi scanner. Seems to work okay. If the hpop isn't building pressure that shouldn't have anything to do with the IDM right? I have another one just didn't think that would be the issue.

·
Trust me, I got this...
1,506 Posts
How long have you been cranking it? If all the oil drained out of the hpop reservoir and the oil rails in the heads, it will take quite a while to replenish that

Sent from my LM-V350 using Tapatalk

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
I cranked on it till the batteries died recharged them and did it again... Is there a way to purge the system to make this a somewhat easier task? This truck has been down over a month now. I need to get up and running asap!