Ford Power Stroke Nation banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Okay, I'm new to this and have looked over 100's of threads and could not find an explanation to my problem. I have a 2001 Ford F250 w/ a 7.3 from international with less then 20,000 miles. My block heater started to leak so I drained the fluid from the block and put new dope tape on the threads and reinstalled. I took the fluid that came out and was going to reuse it since it was replaced no more then 9 months prior to that. Here is my problem, the fluid that I took out ( around 3 gallons) only 1.5 has gone back in. I fill the bottle to the min line and wait a few hours then fill to the same line. I did this for a few days thinking that the air is being pushed out. I start the truck and the coolant that is in the degas gets pushed up and out the cap, not violently, just like there is a bit extra pressure and nowhere for it to go. The heater does not work, so I know there is air in the system, the water pump is working because when I open the degas cap I hear air releasing. The truck has a hard time warming up since it is -10 outside, so there is an issue of getting it up to temp. I drove it around for about an hour yesterday trying to get the system to purge itself but all it did was push out a the coolant from the degas bottle. The temp didn't get above half and the heater blew cold the whole time. There isn't any coolant in my oil or oil in my coolant. I'm lost right now and I'm hoping this is an easy fix, thanks for all your help with this matter. This site has helped me with other issues and has made my life easier with trouble shooting this truck.
Sorry for the long winded :blah: post :blah:

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
:Update: