Ford Power Stroke Nation banner

When a Tranny is slipping, is it better to buy a brand new one, or send current one out for rebuild?

• Buy a Brand New one

Votes: 0 0.0%
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

Registered
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone, I am going to be getting a 2003 7.3L Powerstroke this Saturday, and I'm no diesel mechanic by any means whatsoever, however, my dad is pretty good at working on cars/trucks, BUT they are gasoline. No shame, but I've been wanting to get a diesel truck, since like probably birth, I have attached the truck that I am going to be getting, the only problem with the truck is that the transmission is slipping, which we already planned to get it sent out for re-work, insteading of buying a brand new one. (Also, even though my dad hasn't worked with diesel pickup trucks, he does have a 2017 6.7L powerstroke, but if there was anything wrong with the truck he would typically send it to ford, as diesel parts are expensive and he wants whatever mistakes happen, to be done with Ford, as they can fix the problem that they created right then and there.)
Wheel Tire Automotive parking light Automotive side marker light Land vehicle

Granted, this truck is obviously a used truck, so, there might be a few problems with the engine, is there any noises/obvious problems that should be looked at before adding anything new to the engine that I should be aware of?

I'm happy to be apart of this group and definitely looking forward to learning some new things when I get my new (older) truck!! Also, there will be many changes coming to this truck and I am so excited to see the progress of this truck unfold. 馃槉馃槉馃槉馃槉

Registered
Howdy and welcome aboard!
How many miles on your new truck?