Ford Power Stroke Nation banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Awesome forum - and stoked that this wealth of information is available. I have an '11 F150 ecoboost 2wd; so lets assume that I am new to REAL trucks. We just recently bought a 50 acre farm in East TN and I need a beast. Have a tractor, 15' batwing, UTV, and a bunch of land to run around on.
I am interested in getting a 2001 F350 7.3 PS with 268k. Guy says he has kept it well maintained, but still all stock. Just a little rust on right rear fender. I havent personally seen it yet, but wondering what should I be thinking about as far as value / cost - seeing as it looks like I'll be needing to replace tranny, injectors, glowplugs, etc etc in the next 50k miles or so. Anything else I should be thinking of before I go shopping? thanks!

·
Registered
293 Posts
Transmission. The 01 had a mechanical diode that would fail but at 268K it's probably on it's second or third tranny by now. If it's only on it's second it might be coming up for one again soon. If he towed hopefully he upgraded the cooler, the stock tranny cooler is insufficient for towing. A truck that has never had a chip or tuner is a good find in my book. Too many have been tuned/chipped for big power then beat on.

Can't help much on price, a good 7.3 will bring good money, is is 4WD? Location is a huge factor on price too, just look at prices in PNW and CA.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Transmission. The 01 had a mechanical diode that would fail but at 268K it's probably on it's second or third tranny by now. If it's only on it's second it might be coming up for one again soon. If he towed hopefully he upgraded the cooler, the stock tranny cooler is insufficient for towing. A truck that has never had a chip or tuner is a good find in my book. Too many have been tuned/chipped for big power then beat on.