Ford Power Stroke Nation banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
First off i am new to this site, reason i joined is i am looking at getting a F250 or F350, right now i have a 2004 F150 screwcab lariat with 110,000 miles on it... no i am wanting to get ride of it and either get a new F150 or maybe an older diesel...now what i am wondering is there anything i should know about the 6.0 diesel, is it a good truck, are there any major problems that occur with this engine? i am new to diesels, is there anything that was a major pita with the 6.0 diesel? This is all thanks to my brother in law who has a new 08 F250 that he just chipped lifted and put exhaust on, i drove it this week and now i just can't stop thinking about getting a diesel even though i really don't have a need for one yet, accept i hunt alot and it would be nice for the long road trips seeing how i get 10 mpg out of my f150 cause i have 35's on it... about what mpg do you guys see out of lifted diesels, i don't care i mean it is a truck but i am wondering if it is any better then 10 out of my 150? any and all comments will be appreciated thanks guys...

·
Registered
4 Posts
Well I guess I will be the first to say something. A lot of people will say stay away from the 6.0's reliability issues but that's not always the case. The 6.0 will do you just great with maintenance just like any other diesel or gas truck. The main thing that will find with the 6.0 is oil cooler problems, egr cooler problems, and accumulated between those both, head gaskets. So now your probably thinking great not goin there. But with these problems there are things you can do to fix them. You can get a egr delete, oil cooler rebuild(just in case), coolant filter, and headstuds. The first couple things will cost you( if you do it yourself right around 1,000 dollars to address everything. If you want the headstuds that will be quite a bit more unless you do it yourself( it's a huge job)