Ford Power Stroke Nation banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey PSN, Im a newb... However, Ive got a 2000 2 wheel drive crewcab dually that I put 285000 miles on in 3.5 years. I got to know this truck really well. I hauled cars with it in the midwest and primarily from Philly to Joplin and Greenbay to Dallas. This truck saw an average load of 24k to 30k daily. The odometer says 436763! Same injectors, 2nd trans, same rear. Needless to say she made alot of money and Im attached. Now Its time to rebuild. Ill tell you how I got those miles out her later. Im going GTP38RR, 4"intake, crossover oil line, rebuilt long block with high temp coating on pistons and valves, TE hpop (single pump), 4" down 5" out the butt, new electric lift pump, cool mist water meth kit, PHP 6 program chip, aftermarket condenser (undecided yet), Stage 1 single shot sticks, Tuned down IDM, rebuilt trans with deep well pan, and considering changing to a 3.73 from a 4.10. Can you guys chime in and tell me if this makes sense to you. Thanx.

·
1,084 Posts
Since you are in the market for a high-dollar rebuild, I have some suggestions that might save some $$$ and improved fuel mileage.

Unless you saw some very high EGTs before, I’d forget the big exhaust.

Since you are mega high mileage, I assume you run the Interstate a lot. If MPG interests you, I would heartily recommend converting to a ZF6 manual transmission. I have football knees and have over 280k on the OEM clutch, although most guys feel there are some outstanding aftermarket clutches out there. (I’ll investigate when my OEM clutch wears out). Diesels are tough on automatics and the solid lockup a stick gives you will add 2 MPG easy. The 7.3 engine has plenty of torque.

Unless your old rig slowed down a lot over the mountains in PA, I’d recommend leaving the 3.73 alone. You are too heavy for 3.55s and the 4.10 is a waste of money.

The big turbo won’t gain you anything.