Ford Power Stroke Nation banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Greetings, my name is Thaddeus and I am pleased to meet you all.

In short I will be purchasing a 99-02 F250 crew cab 7.3L in the near future as my brother has a 99 and I love it.

So I joined this forum to ask you pro's for recommendations for the best possible fuel economy.

I am a calm non-aggresive driver who sticks to cruise control and 68mph. I commute 124 miles a day. I run good tires (summers or winters NO all-seasons) change my oils and filters regularly and take good care of my vehicles.

However considering the 7.3L and going from a car to a truck I know Ill be buying a bit more fuel, hopefully not to much if I can help it which is why I am here.

So I am smart enough to consider aerodynamics, so a smooth bed-cap and no external extras. Plus as I said good tires and filters

But I would like to know if their are some really good solid starting places to consider like injectors, modules, turbos, transmissions running gears, aerodynamics on top and/or under... etc. etc. to turn one of these trucks into a smooth running fuel efficient piece of equipment.

My intended purpose is to purchase one, invest in it and make it a long term commuter as I have seen a few of these engines go 1 million miles.

I am very curious to what you pro's and experienced owners have done for fuel efficiency

Thanks for reading this
Thaddeus

·
Administrator
8,341 Posts
welcome to the forums.
62 miles one way on mostly highways, cruise set and no aggressive driving should see you in the high teens.

·
Administrator
8,238 Posts
@Dave Whitmer check this guys thread out. He has done tons of testing. His truck can get up to 28 mpg

·
1,097 Posts
Thaddeus:

Sorry about not getting back sooner, but I had to replace my left knee and re-hab is a politician.