Ford Power Stroke Nation banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
69 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm usually pretty well "in tune" with how my vehicles are running. Over the last few weeks, my truck feels as if it's losing power. For the last couple of days, it has developed a bit of an erratic idle (a small stumble every few seconds). No real loss of boost, and no discernable change in smoke, but the truck just seems to be less responsive - especially at lower RPMs and lower throttle input. It's taking longer to build boost also. Today I noticed that it is running quieter than normal as well (not a bad thing, but I'd like to know why). I've been running the gray CPS from Ford for about 2 years. I did have a small leak in the up-pipes (waiting for my new shop to get finished, so I have a place to fix that), but today I can't hear that leak anymore.

Any ideas?

·
Registered
69 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
OK - I took the truck for a long drive tonight to my daughters track meet (about 150 miles). I noticed some other things. In my highest chip setting (TW "street/race") it has noticeably less smoke. My mileage is also down by about 3mpg on the highway. The rough idle is happening in all chip settings. On the stock setting, it feels laggy on the bottom end and slow to build boost, but seems to make somewhat normal power once it spools up. On the heavy tow setting the pedal is much snappier and seems to run much as it always has - with a little less power. In the daily driver program the pedal is very laggy and slow to build boost. Once it spools up it has less power than it used to. In the street/race setting, it spools up fairly quick, but smokes less and had less power than before. The oil is rotella and was changed along with the fuel filter about 1000 miles ago. Sorry about these long posts from a "newb", I'm just hoping for a little help. I've been reading this site and the "other one" since I bought this truck 8 years ago.