Ford Power Stroke Nation banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

Registered
Discussion Starter #1
I have recently purchased a 2005 F250 Crew cab 4x4 6.0 (170000 KM)! First post on this site as well.
(PS if this is in the wrong topic please move me, new to the site 馃槄)

I am a mechanic appreciate and fairly familiar with the 6.0s and their common faults. Before buying the truck I checked everything I could with the Torque app.

Now after driving it fill time for a few days I'm noticing a long crank issue. Cold, hot, first start of the day or last. Doesn't really matter. The odd part is its intermittent. One time it'll fire up after 4-5 seconds, the next it'll crank to infinity and beyond (but will eventually fire). Doesn't matter if the truck as been off for 5 seconds or 50 min. Doesn't seem to be time related or temperature dependent. The truck cranks kinda slow, batteries are good. Odd part is if you crank it, it'll crank slow, stop cranking and crank again right away and it'll crank faster... Thoughts? I don't think it's Glowplug draw as they don't fire when the truck is already warm. I have not checked the ground points in the frame yet but the battery terminals are like new.

As for the list of things I have done/checked

-ICP: removed and check if the rail was full, it was so no dummy plugs/stand pipe leak on passanger side at least. Sensor doesn't leak and pig tail is in good shape.

-IPR/HPOP: the IPR duty cycle is perfectly in spec while the truck is running, cold and warm. Seems no issue there (24-28 at warm idle). The HPOP is also all good on pressures cold and warm. (600 idle, max 3900 at WOT). It seems to build quickly on cranking so don't think thats it?

-Oil: the truck did have an aftermarket filter but I've replaced it with an OEM motorcraft filter AND new cap.

-Fuel: fuel filters were also replaced with motorcraft filters. I have also installed a blue Spring kit. I haven't checked the fuel pressure manually, should I?