Ford Power Stroke Nation banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
2002 F450 SD 7.3L 4R100
77 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Okay, so as most of you know I installed a KC300x turbo on my 7.3 less than a week ago. I have given it several test drives and played with my PHP Hydra settings and I have come to a conclusion that there is either something wrong or the turbo is just disappointing in general. First I want to say "without blowing my own horn" that I am an ASE master technician and have worked as a tech for my entire professional life. I have turbo charged cars that were never turbo, and upgraded others before. Power and performance is nothing new to me. That being said, the turbo is correctly installed with no boost leaks as I have made sure at this point due to my current confusion.

I'll get straight to the point. Before this swap I was hitting 25psi on the 80hp setting and 30-32 psi on the 100hp setting on the Hydra. Now the turbo only hits 25 in both the 80 and 100 setting and feels lacking on the top end with either the same or slightly better on the low end. Before I contact KC turbos about this I am wondering if anyone has one of these installed and has had a different experience or an explanation for why this is. My turbo was worn out even! With chunks missing out of the compressor blades and rough dusting damage! I thought a 4" inlet and hefty waste-gated turbo would be a substantial upgrade. But it is literally the same or worse performance wise.

I also have several supporting mods too. 6637 filter, 4" turbo back exhaust, EBPV/AIH delete, bellowed up-pipes, boost fooler etc. etc. This turbo is supposed to be able to hit 40 psi as I understand it. I'm going for 35ish as a final goal though. 25 is just disappointing for a $1,300 investment that feels worse than my worn out stock turbo. I honestly feel like I'd have $1,300 back in my bank and be just as happy right now. I had such high expectations too.. Am I missing something here?

·
Registered