Ford Power Stroke Nation banner

1 - 20 of 84 Posts

·
Registered
70 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Greetings, all;

I have been looking for a HD - any make - to pull a bigger travel trailer but all I find is a lot of people too super-proud of their vehicles with 200k+ mileage. Therefore, I bought this to build my own:

1999 FORD F-350 SD LARIAT Ext Cab LWB 2WD
7.3L V8 OHV 16V Powerstroke . . . Orig mileage 245083
5 speed manual transmission

I want to build the entire power train - I suspect the rear is not limited slip - and want to fix everything Ford did not do right when it was built. I want to make it as efficient as possible in AZ's 120F heat to the northern regions.

I have rebuilt small block chevys, two motorcycle engines, but this is my first time on Ford and rebuilding a diesel (although I have worked on them).

Thank you all for all the wisdom posted on this website.

Best recommendations for aftermarket upgrades?

Attachments

·
Trust me, I got this...
1,283 Posts
What was wrong with the engine that made you want to rebuild it? Also, the kind of power you are trying to make will determine what people recommend to you.

Sent from my SM-J320V using Tapatalk

·
Registered
70 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
What was wrong with the engine that made you want to rebuild it? Also, the kind of power you are trying to make will determine what people recommend to you.

Thanks, Cummins Junkie --

The engine broke a ring and pinged on top of a piston.

No scoring in cylinders but a definite ridge.

245K miles and I would like to get the same on the rebuilt power train. Efficiency and towing are the goals.

·
Trust me, I got this...
1,283 Posts
Well, there is an absolute ton you can do to these things. Engine-wise is a book in itself. Upgrades/fixes I could list off the top of my head (that I personally would recommend or do if I were in your position):