Ford Power Stroke Nation banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Went out to eat tonight and when we get back in the truck to leave it won't start. Everything is normal until you turn the key to start after the glow plug light goes out. Then nothing, no click no nothing. The lights don't dim or anything. I checked all of the fuses that relate to ignition and all were good. Any ideas where to start? It cranked fine when we left the house. Any help will be appreciated.

Thanks,

Wesley

·
Registered
139 Posts
Damn, that sucks! I've heard of similar problems with ficm problems and maybe heui system too.... But those trucks at least cranked. So I'd say that's not your problem. I'd start with all the simple stuff first. Check connections at starter and solenoid and maybe ignition relay if these trucks have one. I'm new to these trucks so I'm just thinking of stuff I'd start with if it were me in your shoes. If it won't even crank, its not getting power for some reason. I.e. Loose connection, bad solenoid/relay, etc.... Or the starter just took a crap

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Any more ideas out there guys? I have checked all connections, unplugged the fan, disconnected the batteries, still nothing, truck won't crank over. It was spitting snow pretty hard this evening when I got off work so I didn't get to work on it much. Any help would be apreciated. I need to get this thing home.

Thanks,

Wesley

·
The Unseen Mod
4,126 Posts
Check your starter connection. It should at least crank, see if you hear anything coming from the starter, i'd go from there.

·
Registered
29 Posts
does the truck have security on it. Is there a red light flashing on the dash If there is then maybe there is a moduel off line telling the truck that some one is tring to steal the truck

·
m-chan68
116 Posts