Ford Power Stroke Nation banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Moved in
1,008 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a black liquid coming out the front of the muffler. It smells like fuel.

I just drove to WNY yesterday from GA and got 10 mpg pulling about 6k. Mileage was the same in the mountains of NC, VA, and WV and the flats of GA and SC. The mileage doesn't really concern me but I did think it would be a little better. Empty mileage has been about 14 primarily highway on Bills economy tune which I think is low.

Truck idles fine and pulls the hills fine. The mid level work is where it struggles. I have been troubleshooting a miss or vibration for a few months now. The vibration occurs followed by boost going up a few pounds and the vibration goes away. On the flat ground this is a re-occuring cycle every 10-15 seconds. This only happens in overdrive.

Truck didn't use any oil or coolant on the 1000 mile run. Truck makes white smoke when engine is lugged. White smoke at idle (yes, somewhat normal) and puts out a pretty good cloud of black smoke on takeoff after idle.

Injectors were bench tested by Beans 1800 miles ago. Not sure if there could be anything internally or at partial throttle that wouldn't be seen there.

I need any suggestions and help asap. I am in the middle of a duty station change and am headed to CT on Friday for two months of school, then moving to WA in June. I need to get this thing running right soon. Any help and suggestions are greatly appreciated.

If anyone is the in the WNY area and can give me a hand send me a PM and I will give you my #.

·
FORD..THE ROCK CRUSHER
2,342 Posts
is there fuel in the coolent?? could be a bad injector oring..

·
Moved in
1,008 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
No fuel smell in degas bottle. o-rings were changed when injectors were checked out.

·
FORD..THE ROCK CRUSHER
2,342 Posts
what orings did you use?? the cheaper onse tend to rip when you put them in..

·
Moved in
1,008 Posts
Discussion Starter #5