Ford Power Stroke Nation banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
<--501cc,should b 540 : /
689 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Im new to the nation, Ive heard you are some good guys.

I have some questions on my early '99 F-250.

First off, the speedometer only works over 35mph or so, after you hit 35ish it works perfectly, once you dip below 35, it drops back to 0. Any ideas on the cause of that??

Also, starting with key on my ABS light stays lit, but no other lights, what does that indicate?

Thanks!

·
689 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Is there any way I can put a DMM or something on the rear sensor to see if it is the culprit??

Yes, the ABS light remains light

·
<--before leveler & block
852 Posts
Only codes being picked up are p1690 which is wastegate solenoid malfunction and a p0381 which is glow plug indicator malfunction. Dont get any other codes. I checked them with my scan gauge for the OP.

And "99 stroker" it would help if you fill out your sig so everyone knows what has been done to the truck

·
689 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Ill try cleaning it off, otherwise ill see of I cant get stroker2 to let me try his real quick to see if thats the culprit

·
689 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
Allright Boggerr, you were right as i suspected and hoped you were. I switched the strokers2's out of his '00 it was shaped somewhat differnly then the one on my early '99 and had a differnt size bolt holding it in place,however they are interchangeable. The newer style one is magnatic and picked up a good amount of gunk during the slow, short spin to see if my speedo would resume working :eek:
I will begin the search tomorrow to see what I can come up with, hopefully the local dealership has one of the magnetic ones in stock, and cheap

·
<- Sums it up
1,739 Posts
The local ford shop here in town carries them for $25 and that is hi priced according to some I have talked to on here. It must be common, he knew the part number off the top of his head.

·
All done now
22,486 Posts