Ford Power Stroke Nation banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
67 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
heading out to the trackthis friday in the 2011 f250. so i've lined up a few time at the track before but in the nova. although i have never lined up against or have lined up with a turbo application. i know i have to build boost but i have a few questions to help me get a lil better.

the only mod to the truck is the idp torq2 set to about 75% cranked
20" stock wheels

first off when both are turbo applications which driver benefits for lining up first or second??

should i launch in 4x4 and around how much boost??
if 4x4 should i leave it all the way through??
air pressure??
advance trac off and in tow/haul mode fore sure
how bout the trans?? im thinking in the d position with up to 4 gears only??
will 4 gears be enough for the 8th??
any other things i should consider??

i just want a ballpark idea of what i should do as this is my first time down the track with the truck. thanks in advance

i also posted this in the drag racing forum but figured id get more views here

·
Registered
30 Posts
I don't know if the factory ECU will let you brake boost.

Do you have the locking rear diff? If so, lock it.

They probably have a traction enhancer on the surface, can't remember the name of it. If so, launch in RWD. You only want to launch in 4x4 when traction is an issue. If your rears slip excessively then launch in 4x4.

Launch at 30 psi if it'll let you, lol.

When I'm launching, I put the brakes down about half way, foot most of the way to the floor, and get off the brake when it starts to tear loose.

My best time so far is 13.9 in the quarter mile with a bad launch.

·
1st murdered 2011 psd
1,387 Posts
Ok... Not tryin to hate... But I disagree with a lot of what was just said on launching.... I've made countless passes in turbo diesels at the track.... Here's what I do

Yes you can launch stock the torque management will just defuel some off the line.