Ford Power Stroke Nation banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello All,
I'm new to PowerstrokeNation but not 6.0L's. I got a problem with my '04 F250 6.0L that I've been dealing with for some time and it has me stumped. The oil temperature has gotten extreme in the delta with the water temp. The current delta is 80° (water 188°-195° & oil as high as 272°) while pulling my camper. Daily driving the oil temps go up to around 220° or so. All temperature readings coming from a ScangageII

The only hard use the truck gets is pulling my 28' 5ver a couple of times a year, other than that it's just a daily driver to work and town.

Before you jump to the obvious solutions, please read all that I've done to the truck over the last 3 years.

Here's the rundown on the history and repairs I've made
240,000 miles Sept 2011 - Purchased, no prior history available

241,600 miles Jan 2012 - Blue spring fuel regulator upgrade, replace thermostat

- Started seeing higher engine oil temperatures, around 230°, because of this....

242,500 miles May 2012 - Replaced oil cooler, Sinister Diesel EGR delete, turbo rebuild, Dieselsite coolant filter, coolant flush (before replacement of oil cooler), CCV reroute

- Engine oil temperatures still high, oil cooler replacement did not solve and I cut open old cooler, not plugged. After trip from Ohio to Sturgis SD, saw temps of 250°. I started questioning temperature readings so I ....

246,300 miles August 2012 - replaced EOT sensor

- Truck started to run horrible, had a local diesel shop diagnose as leaking head gaskets, truck was mostly parked until....

247,500 miles December 2013 - new head gaskets, ARP studs, heads milled, new injectors, new IPR, new HPOP, new pushrods, new water pump. Note, while HPOP was out and could see last 2 cam lobes, they were blue like they have been overheated.