Ford Power Stroke Nation banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
43 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I was reading about keeping the EGTs down to help with mpg but its really hard to keep mine below 600. I have dual stacks, afe stage II intake, and a chip. I dont know if those will help lower them or not but is there anything else to get them lower?

I was also wondering if any of the additives that are on the market actually help mpg or do anything? Some people people told to stay away from them and others say to use both fuel and oil additives? I'm still learning and tryin to figure out the right answers instead of hear say haha. thanks in advance

·
Registered
43 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
some people told me it did. so i was making sure before i screw anything up or waste money.

anybody know anything else on how to get egt down?

·
Registered
43 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
even if i keep my foot out of it and keep the rpms low my egt goes up to around 7

·
Registered
59 Posts
i had a leaky up pipe.. fixed it and egts dropped about 100*

I

·
0 Posts
What do you have for a truck? My 6.0's benifit from adding Motorcraft cetane performance improver.. I do notice better throttle response, smoother idleing, and it helps to keep my EGR system working properly.. Most cetane rating's at the pump are 34-40, (not good).. If I run out of it, my truck runs like azz...

·
Registered
168 Posts
mine are in the 600 range going around 70mph. It also depends on what tune i'm running...

·
Registered
43 Posts
Discussion Starter #11
i have a 7.3, is that Motorcraft cetane performance improver expensive? ive never heard of it.

someone was telling me to put diesel klean. arnt there 2 kinds though?

I

·
0 Posts
i have a 7.3, is that Motorcraft cetane performance improver expensive? ive never heard of it.

someone was telling me to put diesel klean. arnt there 2 kinds though?