Ford Power Stroke Nation banner

1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
49 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hi i am pretty new to powerstrokes so bare with me.

i recently bought a early 99 with a 6 speed and 190k on it, only has blow by at idle and runs pretty strong. i just recently changed oil to rotella, cat delete and muffler delete, new fuel filter, and threw the 6637 air cleaner on there.

then a buddy who has a early 99 auto had a edge evolution he said i could try, put it on extreme in his truck and she would smoke pretty good and accelerate alot faster than mine ever did( hard comparison between stick and auto but his seemed alot snappier) when put on my truck there was not a sign opf smoke even on extreme, it did improve power slightly in the lower half of the pedal but every time i get into WOT with or without the chip i throw a "injector control pressure above/below" code so i am thinking there might be a ICP, IPR, or HPOP problem? you guys think i am on the right track is there one you would suggest to go after first?

Also i just noticed when streaming data on the edge it says "line pressure psi" and it reads 0 even when the truck is running, are they talking fuel line pressure? i am assuming the sensor must be bad it is reading from if it runs with 0 pressure in the fuel line. any idea where that sensor is so i can swap it out?

sorry for the newb questions but i am still trying to figure out the inner workings of the fuel system on these.

Thanks in advance,
Ryan

·
Hater Club
3,602 Posts
Get rid of the edge.

"injector control pressure above/below" is normal with a turner. I'm not familiar with the line codes on the edge, but I'm sure it's not talking about fuel pressure.

With your early 99, you have 120cc AB code injectors. Depending on the condition of the injectors, and how much ICP you are pushing, you may not be able to push enough fuel the really blow smoke.