Ford Power Stroke Nation banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Any help would be appreciated guys I have an 03 f350 7.3 it’s been down for almost 3 months took it on a 2.5 hour trip it ran perfectly fine went out the next morning to start it and it just cranks over batteries are draining quick tho replaced cps cleaned connections on under dash junction box I’m new to the diesel trucks but have tried all advice I’ve been told

·
Registered
1,770 Posts
Welcome to PSN! I have posted this on many threads:

"I would recommend that you first invest in FORScan (forscan.org) and a suitable adapter. I have an OBDLink EX usb adapter (should you wish to use a computer to collect data), or take a look at either a BAFX or OBDLink unit. Both BAFX/OBDLink have a bluetooth/Wifi units (there are a few folks around here that recommend them) that will would work with a smart phone (Run of the mill box store scanners and even a great number of the higher end scanners can't touch these trucks as Ford used the "heavy duty diesel" protocol for communication). Once you are setup I would capture data.. At minimum I would save RPM (really this is CPS), ICP, IPR, MAP, EOT and IVS (at least I think that is the PID for the go petal). FORScan will allow you to save the data as a .csv file which you can import into excel. The information you get from the truck will help identify what your problem really is without just "throwing parts" at the truck."

As this is a newer 7.3 the RPM gauge is not activated until the engine is running (97 and older would indicate RPMs while cranking) so you need something to connect to the PCM for information. It would be worth while to find and check the that the PCM and IDM are getting power. I don't have diagrams for the 98 and newer trucks. Hopefully, @Patrick Feeley will pop on shortly.

Cj

·
Registered
20 Posts