Ford Power Stroke Nation banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
"Miss me yet" George Bush
317 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
When cold my 6.0l suffers a little and it's getting worse this year, first noticed last year but it was not to bad then. At startup I get a rough idle as if not all cylinders are firing. Not much power till it warms up a bit and then there are no more issues.

I rarely see below 40deg but when I do I also get some smoke till it's warmed up. I have no codes, based on my early GM diesel experience this seems like a bad glow plug or relay? My engine has about 70k on it.

·
Registered
3,297 Posts
Its most likely due to stiction, a very common issue with the 6.0. Get some Rev-X in there, (do a search or ask around here about it) and it will take care of your cold starts.......and make it run a whole lot better all around.

·
317 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks!
I studied the other threads under stiction and it looks like the same issue. For the last two years I have been running Rotella T Synthetic, and the last few months the newer T6 stuff and have never gone over 6k between oil changes? Today I added 8oz of Rev-X so I should know more in the next week or two.

·
6Leaker
6,719 Posts
good luck with it. I'm leaning towards stiction as well, went down that road and come out with 6 new injectors. Also just went through having no glow plugs, anything below 50° and the truck was miserable to get going in the morning, rest of the day it was fine. Maybe 5-10+ minutes of cranking/waiting but more cranking than waiting.

The truck actually started easier with the stuck injectors at 20° than it did with no glow plugs at 45° only difference was with the stuck injectors it would run like CRAP for a little bit, sometimes as much as 3 dead cylinders that you could hear slowly come on line and then it would smooth out.

If it persists and still seems like glow plugs, they seem relatively easy to test with a digital multi-meter.

·
Banned
924 Posts