Ford Power Stroke Nation banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to PowerStrokes and new to the forum here. I recently purchased an '06 F-250 with the famous 6.0L; it runs well but I was hoping for a little better fuel economy. Right now I'm averaging about 16MPG unloaded; at least 65% of my driving is on the highway. I've changed the oil and used a diesel additive, I use a diesel additive for lubricity and cetane, I'm not in the pedal too hard and I cruise on the interstate between 65-72; is there a mod that can help improve fuel economy? The truck is a daily driver and I tow occasionally (tow mileage is not a part of my avg).

·
it's an 02 05 08
930 Posts
:whs: that should help with mileage

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks for the responses guys; what mileage should I be able to expect with the tuner? I have a 1985 F-700 with an 8.2L Detroit in it that gets 16MPG with a dump load of dirt!

BTW: I really love my SuperDuty; much better feel than the '07 Chevy that the guy running the red light took care of for me!

·
PETE ENGR PSD
973 Posts
Are you hand calculating this mileage? The computer in the truck in the cluster is more unreliable than anything. An SCT would help, I generally get 16-20 highway driving @70 mph. Also, a turbo back exhausts system would significantly help too. For $400 or $500 it would pay for itself quickly. Maybe look into some of the vendors here.. MBRP being one of them.

·
Registered
15,561 Posts
It all depends on how ya drive it. with my 7.3 in its hottest tune and driving it like I own it I can manage 20mpg during the summer.... but then I keep talling myself to that its a 3/4 ton truck it aint gonna get that great of mpg

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #7