Ford Power Stroke Nation banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
520 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok, here is the deal guys. I recently graduated with a degree Business Administration with a concentration in Finance. I currently work at a local commercial bank as a Credit Analyst. Its a pretty good job. Not too much hard work, its salary, paid vacation, sick time, all that good stuff. Ya know, typical bankers stuff. The problem I am having is I am so damn BORED!! Even when I have a ton of work to do, I cant help but yawn all day while doing it cuz its just paper crap. Well, I have been thinking about going back and getting my degree in Engineering. I have started getting into renewable energy and how it all works and thought about Enviromental Engineering. But I also worked in construction for about 5 years and enjoyed it other than the fact I was the low man on the todem pole(labor). What do you engineers think? Hows the market? Are you happy with what you do everyday? Any input would help guys. Thanks.

·
BRING DA AMBALAMPS
1,952 Posts
My degree was in Mechanical Engineering Technology. I loved the program, a lot more based on method vs. based on theory in regular mechanical engineering. basically a lot more hands on type lab work so that suit me great. I started out in sales engineering right out of school with a large HVAC company but have since shifted to project management with a global construction products company (tools, anchors, firestop, etc.) I'm not really using a whole lot of what I learned in school but the degree has opened several doors.

·
All Talk, No Walk?
2,358 Posts
Theres probably 150 or so openings right now with in 10 miles of my house for engneers... Mostly Mechanical..

·
PSA
566 Posts
i started my mechanical degree...the math/physics was fun and the labs were fun but it seemed like waaaay to much book work.