Ford Power Stroke Nation banner

1 - 20 of 77 Posts

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to PSN, and recently just purchased my first diesel. 2001 F-250 crew

cab 4x4 7.3 with 116,000 miles and 4" lift. I've added AFE intake, 4" turbo back

exhaust, and edge evolution programmer. i will be using it for hauling a trailer

once a week, bean head couple times a year and the rest to and from work. i

have heard nothing but good things about the 7.3, but I'm wondering if there is

anything else i can do to make it even MORE reliable? it does shift a bit hard

but that doesn't bother me to much. any input is appreciated, i know I'm a

newbie but I'm willing to listen and learn as much as i can about my truck and

diesel's in general :ford:

·
Registered
691 Posts
Guages , send trans to bts,john woods or twisted, upgrade the trans cooler asap, tunes from gearhead.

Get a spare cps and leave it in the glovebox

Buy autoenginuity

Change the oil

Maybe do a garrett 38r turbo

·
Hood Rich
2,873 Posts
I think you'd find a 6 position chip to be more suited for your application than the Edge. We have a ton of great tuners on site, its just a matter of who you like.

I run a 6 POS with Beans Tunes, my tunes are...

High Idle
Tow
Econ
Daily Driver
Whisper
Idle Lope/HOT

Its always a good idea to add a coolant filter.

·
Registered
1,690 Posts
Yea good news. The 7.3 was bulletproof from factory. Auto trans not so much. Save 5k for a BTS. And youll have a truck that will run and last you a long, long time. Look into custom tunes to help with power.

Search on here and read a lot.

·
7.3 fan
271 Posts