Ford Power Stroke Nation banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
91 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I had a shop install a Banks stinger plus system on my 2000 F-350 7.3 PSD. I got the truck back and it was a big difference. No check engine lights or problems. I got it back to the house and noticed they hadn't t-tap grounded the MAP wire like in the instructions. I went ahead and did so like in the instructions and it seemed to react and added tons of power but also triggered a check engine light. What purpose does grounding it serve? How do I get rid of the check engine? :confused:

·
Registered
91 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Also a little background since I'm a noob. I've always tuned and worked on Audi's and other euro cars. It's always been a dream of mine to own a powerstroke and I ended up buying two. A 2000 7.3 PSD DRW Crew Cab Long Bed as well as a late 1999 7.3 PSD SRW Crew Cab Long Bed. I love these trucks and looking forward to getting them up in strong running shape.

·
Village Idiot
8,209 Posts
Are you sure they say ground map wire, if you completly ground a map sensor i would suspect it goes to default table, not ideal. Find member 444d he seems to be banks Savy, and may have a few pointers.

·
Village Idiot
8,209 Posts

·
Registered
91 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·
Yeah I'll probably give them a call on Friday and see what they have to say. There were no check engine lights before grounding it so I'm 99% sure that's it. You think I should disconnect the t-tap until then?

·
Caption This
4,261 Posts
You'll notice the instructions say to use the black wire that is "supplied in the kit". That wire has a zener in it. Is that the wire you used or did you make your own wire?

·
Registered
91 Posts
Discussion Starter · #12 ·
To update the thread for anybody else curious, the problem was that I cut the wire too short and the zener is no longer on it. Ordering a new one from Banks shortly! Thanks for the help 444-4D!

·
Paul
160 Posts