Ford Power Stroke Nation banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Daily Stroker
1,680 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I found a 2003 F250 6.0L truck and I know of the nightmare that is the 6.0L engine, but I also know that they can be really good engines if the right things are repaired. What do I ask the seller about the engine to make sure its a good one and what kinds of things can I check? Please be specific as my diesel knowledge is small and I am still learning

Thanks
DF92

·
Haters Gonna Hate
5,869 Posts
ask if the motor has ever been in for headgaskets, if so did he have ford tty headbolts used or headstuds, ask if its ever been tuned, if so what tuner, basically just ask about any mods done to it, what kind of oil used, what brand of filters used and how offen was it serviced

·
Registered
878 Posts
:whs: They are only a nightmare if they have lived a nightmare with a dumbass owner who cares not about his engine.....Happy Hunting

·
<--before leveler & block
852 Posts
Get an oasis. I know maintenance is a big factor on these engines but if its kept up on, it wont give you much trouble. My dad has an 03 thats stock bare to the bone and all the way to the original tires. 1 injector replaced so far and 1 alternator at 55k miles. Get insanely good mileage. I HAND calculated 26 mpg on a mostly highway drive with the a/c on the whole time and clocked at 67mph. I know many will disagree with me there and start shotting at me for it but its true. The speedo could be off but i doubt being all stock and all. If the truck has a good history, buy it, take care of it, and it will take care of you....at least for the most part. :D

·
Registered
650 Posts
My speedo is off 10% as delivered by Ford. Try matching your speedo with a GPS to get an idea how close it really is to being right. Hand calculating form the odometer is no different than believing what the lie-o-meter tells you (if your truck has one)

·
Daily Stroker
1,680 Posts
Discussion Starter #8