Ford Power Stroke Nation banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I am new to the idi world. That being said I heard they are the diesel motor you want for cheap parts, cheap maintenance , and they run forever. I found a 1993 f350 dually with 171k on a 7.3 ldl . Is that high for those diesel motors ?

·
Registered
1,939 Posts
Well, Diesel and cheap is a bit of an oxymoron. Of course in today's world nothing is cheap, just cheaply made. Comparative to any modern diesel engine, they are very affordable. Probably comparable to a 12 valve cummins.

The IDI's were very good little engines, when left stock and properly maintained they lasted very well. Just like anything else, some ran forever with no trouble, some were nothing but trouble. The biggest problem I've seen are improperly serviced air cleaners. THEY DONT LIKE EATING DIRT. Some parts are getting a little harder to find now, but it's not terrible. My mother's daily driver is a 93, 7.3 turbo, at a lower mileage it cracked a cylinder wall, we had the hole sleeved and put it together with new rings and bearings, it now has almost 600k on it. One set of injectors and a rebuilt injection pump at around 500k. That's pretty much it other than basic maintenance. (Basic maintenance includes maintaining the fuel system and glow plugs.)

Personally, I love em. They are fun to drive, get decent fuel mileage, and are fairly straightforward to maintain. That said, do some research so you don't get frustrated the first cold morning.

Welcome to the forum!

Sent from my E6810 using Tapatalk

·
Premium Member
9,187 Posts
well maintained they will run forever.
my 88 has 495,000 miles on it and still purrs like a kitten.

Reactions: RDBob

·
don't play well w others
4,953 Posts
We have an 88 IH here with a 92 ford IDI has probably 600,000