Discussion Starter #1
P1261 - #1 High to low side short
P1267 - #7 High to low side short
P1273 - #3 High to low side open
P1275 - #5 High to low side open
P1293 - Injector high side open bank 1
P1294 - Injector high side open bank 2

Retreived using AE.

Here is how I got to this point. No start, white smoke while cranking and a P1670 code that kept returning. ICP pressure 2400psi during crank but not sure if or how this is related. I did some research on here, found the troubleshooting flow chart and came to the conclusion the IDM may be bad. Also found on here that this code can prevent IDM codes from displaying.

Got a reman IDM and put it in today. Still no start, lots of white smoke while cranking and the weird ICP pressure. AE says the motor passes the buzz test and I hear 8 buzzes of equal strength (although I am not experienced enough to say the buzzes are as strong as they are supposed to be).

I see two possibilities:
1. Reman IDM is bad.
2. Original IDM was bad and the P1670 problem prevented these codes from displaying all-along.

I am leaning towards #2. My research about these new codes turned up the possibility that there is a bad harness or two, or a bad solenoid on an injector that is drawing too much current. Here's a post Dave at Swamps made in response to P1273 code:
"It's rare to have an inj solenoid go bad...but when a solenoid does go bad, we have seen them draw enough amps through the IDM to actually damage the IDM."

I also found on here that a bad IDM can fry a uvc harness, although I'm still trying to wrap my mind around that one...

For what it's worth, I put the uvc clips on last November.

So what's my next step guys? :shrug: Thanks in advance!

Best,
Jim

·
All done now
22,486 Posts