Ford Power Stroke Nation banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have an intermittent miss on this 99 F350 7.3 Diesel unless I am hammering it up a long grade at high rpm's. Then I can get repetitive misses.

Intermittent miss occurs about 2 times per hour just for an instant.

Slightly dusted engine with good compression 375-400 (cranking and corrected for altitude).

Glowplugs ...Good
GPR... Good
Checked resistance from IDM to injectors ...Good

History of some ether for starting before I got my hands on it.

KOEO codes present

P1210
p0470
P0340

I have AE with the ford enhancement. But I am new to working on a powerstroke and new to AE. I would appreciate any help. Just gonna start this and update it as I go along.

I have changed the ICP sensor and will be doing a KOEO as soon as it stops snowing to see if the P1210 goes away.

All comments appreciated.

·
Premium Member
3,060 Posts
nothing pertaining to the HPOP (aside from it coming apart internally), including the ICP sensor can cause an misfire.

If the misfire gets worse with extended duration, and higher rpm...then I would look at your fuel system.

http://swampsdiesel.com/site/how_to_pdf/pdf/fuel_pressure.pdf

also..noting that your truck is a cab & chassis...I'd almost bet on it.

The C&C trucks with the rear (of axle) steel tank, have a known issue with the tank delaminating, and obstructing the flow of fuel.

Once the fuel system is cleaned (blow out lines, incl those to cyl heads), tank removed/replaced as necessary...recheck pressure.

if the misfire persists, the injector (plungers) are most likely damaged internally from lack of lubricity.

We install the polyethylene Titan tanks on all C&C trucks that have had tank delamination.

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I have replaced the ICP with a borgwarner unit.

KOEO: P1210(icp) and P0340(cps) are now gone.
P0470(ebp sensor) is still present.

Thank you swamp for the reply.