Ford Power Stroke Nation banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,

I'm almost finished building up my 97 F350 to be a solid mountain truck however I have a few questions that I can't seem to get a straight answer for. I've talked to a few mechanic friends however I'm wondering if someone on this board can help. I'm not a mechanic I'm just a diesel enthusiast.

Here's some context.. I have a 97 F350 crew cab long box that I've done a bit of work to including replacing the transmission with a BD performance version of the E40D. I've also just had a pneumatic BD exhaust brake installed, which has the brake loc electrical component and the DFIV. I have a hydra chip running 1023 tunes with 238/80 Full force injectors.. all the other supporting mods have been done.

Here's what's going on, the reason I say mountain truck is that we have a lot of steep windy roads here in South West British Columbia, upwards of 13% grade with tight switch backs.. often on lose gravel where very slow speeds are required to maintain control, some thing like 10-20 mph max..I'm loaded and towing a 7k trailer with it's own brakes.. so with the exhaust brake and transmission in drive coming down the mountain OD off, the exhaust brake engages for a few minutes before the releasing? I believe this is lockup disengaging? so I tap the throttle and it locks up again which causes the exhaust brake to do it's work.. no big deal.. at some point I move the column selector into 2 and the same behavior happens.. the brake waddles for a while, the tranny releases and I tap the throttle to re-engage.. ok so far as I'm able to not gain speed and I don't need to work the brakes that hard..