Ford Power Stroke Nation banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to the nation and needing some help. I have a 97 7.3 stock single cab drw with manual tranny. In gears 1 thru 4 i have little boost/ power. 5th gear or any gear I get over 2k rpms, i have decent power but not as stong as i think it should be. I'm in constructoin and pull anywhere from 7k to 20k lbs. I have bought but not installed a K&N COI and a 3" downpipe. Thinking of Edge Evo tuner. Not looking to spend a lot of money, but need to be able to pull a load.

·
Terminator Nation
5,119 Posts
A stock 7.3 is about 175 hp at the tires so it isn't going to be a rocketship. An exhaust, intake and chip will put you at 225hp at the tires.

·
Terminator Nation
5,119 Posts
A stock 7.3 is about 175 hp at the tires so it isn't going to be a rocketship. An exhaust, intake and chip will put you at 225hp at the tires.

In comparision, the new 400 hp diesels are probably putting out 320-340 hp stock at the tires figuring 15-20% powertrain loss.

·
Registered
1,554 Posts
edge sucks dont do it. same with K&N.
use the K&N tube but put a napa 6637 on it

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I've heard most don't like the K&N. What's better about the 6637? Why not edge? What's going to be the better for the price? I'm just trying to get a few more ponies for the work truck not trying to spend a fortune.

·
Registered
558 Posts
K&N type filters use oil to trap the dirt, on a turbo engine will pull the dirt and oil right through it. Look at some of the site sponsors here for a custom tuned chip, you'll get better tuning and more selections. Your truck should pull 10k pretty easily, I would almost guarantee that you have exhaust up-pipe leaks which will kill performance.

·
Registered
1,554 Posts
edge tunes suck. they increase the pulsewidth to the point that all you are doing is making smoke, I have an edge tow tune in my PCM from a previous owner.
lots of smoke, heat and no power