Ford Power Stroke Nation banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
80 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
alright im a diesel newb, this is my first diesel and ive only had the truck for a month. ran perfect up until now.

Was slowing down coming to a stop, it cut out then came back on, then died and i coasted to a gas station. trired firing it up and u could tell it wanted to but still kept cranking. then let it sit for a min or two and it doesnt want to fire over at all and sounds like its turning real freely if u know what im saying. any help would be appresiated.

to me, it sounds like a pump but like i said im a newb to diesels but thats where i would start if it was a gasser. Isnt throwing any cel lights either.

·
Haters Gonna Hate
5,869 Posts
crank on it and see if your tach registers and if your oil pressure comes up.. make sure you have a wait to start light on in the dash.. check codes... check all your fuses with a test light or multi meter, underdash, and under hood,

·
Registered
80 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
yeah i waited for the start light for sure. im trying to get it towed home now and will check about the tach registering. i know the oil pressure just sat there though.

·
Registered
80 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
a friend told me to change cps too. lol it seriously just broke down 20min ago and i just got a ride home. Thanks x's 100 for the quick replys guys.

·
Registered
10 Posts
cps causes alot of problems.... my trucks went out and i put a new one in it still wouldn't run after the local stealership hunted threw wiring harnesses and to other new cps plugs they found out that the new plugs make the trucks miss also so just a heads up it might need a good old style cps.... just dont want someone else getting a 2000 dollar bill for electrical tape like i did :doh:

·
Registered
80 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
when u guys talk about the cps do u mean cam pos sensor or crank pos sensor? and does anyone have a link to the fuse box diagram

·
Registered