Ford Power Stroke Nation banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok so like the title says I'm in the process of doing a 7.3 swap on my girl Olga. She's been my side chick for 8+ years now and we've been through a lot together.
A couple of things to get out of the way, I am completely new to diesels. This will be the first vehicle I've owned that has a diesel engine. That being said I've got no problem getting in and getting shht done but I'm by no means a mechanic. So bear with me.
Also I've already committed to the 7.3 swap. I'm not doing a Cummins. I realise you can buy a kit and it'll just drop in and it's only one wire to run it. I want the 7.3. End of story.
I'll do my best to take and post as many pictures as possible. This project is currently underway and I'll update as things go along.

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I've since added airlift air bags inside the front coils to help with the added weight of the 7.3. It was sweet cause it gave her a nice almost level look but I know it's going to be short lived once I get that big bitch of a 7.3 in her. The farther shot is before the airlift and the close up is after.

Attachments

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
There's the new to me 7.3 originally out of a 2000 e350 van with 260xxxkm on it. I picked up the engine, tranny, rad, drive shaft, complete wiring harness, accelerator pedal, electronic fuel pump and then some all for 400$.

Attachments

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
79' c10 2wd "Olga" 7.3 powerstroke swap

So I ordered a new oil pan and moroso gasket for the 7.3 because the old one is rusted AF and leaking. I haven't put them on yet, I figured I'll keep the old pan on until I finish getting the engine mocked up and my mounts made. Just in case something gets banged up I'd rather it be the old pan and not my brand new one.

Attachments

·
Administrator
8,250 Posts